Post for Module One

With regard to the first scenario in the first module, I believe this scenario goes to the heart of the sixth provocation (What will students want and need from me). My understanding of the scenario is that the two groups of students probably come from differing socio-economic groups. One group, the disinterested and unmotivated group are probably from working class families and the more conscientious group concerned with the right answer are more likely from upper middle class families. In both cases, effective teaching is not happening.
It is clear that the former group is having significant difficulty connecting with either the subject matter or the teacher. It is likely that their idea of the nature and purpose of education is at odds with that of the teacher and the other group of students. If indeed they are from a working class background, they may not value highly theoretical and abstract ideas and concepts as much as they do knowledges leading to the achievement of specific competencies enabling the accomplishment of specific tasks.
In the absence of any more specific information, I would say what we have here are differing ideas about education and what constitutes useful or important knowledge (Kaplan and Owings 2001 pp 165-203). The disengaged group are probably having difficulty engaging because they can’t see the subject matter as having any use to them. The more enthusiastic group in their desire for ‘the right answer’ at the expense of exploring ideas and appreciating them for their own sake, demonstrate a very market-oriented view of education as simply a hoop to jump through in order to qualify for the occupation of their choice. These students see education through a principally liberal individualistic framework (Module A Lecture Notes). In my experience this views facilitates a market view of education as a commodity.
I do not have a ready answer on how I would deal with this scenario in light of my ideas about education and belief in the right of all to quality education (HREOC 2000 p 1). If I were to provide the sort of education I think the disengaged group would like, would I simply be pigeon holing them and perpetuating class disadvantage? Yet how do I encourage them to greater academic accomplishment without disengaging them?
With regards to the more enthusiastic group, am I really educating them by providing them with ‘answers’, telling them what to think rather than how to think? Do I buy into their market-oriented view of education and give them the results they desire in return for telling me what I want to hear?
I think I would begin by being cognisant of both groups right to an education. I also need to decide for myself which theory of education to folllow, the social democratic view or the liberal view.
directly and indirectly educating them about education. I would attempt to show them that the cognitive developments I was trying to encourage will serve them well in any occupation and enrich their lives in non-vocational ways.

About kpnajj

Grad Dip Ed (sec) Univ. Canberra
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post for Module One

  1. jasothini says:

    Karim, I think you have hit the nail on the head with this post. I agree with the fact that there are two differing ideas about education here. It is quite interesting that you indicate that the group seeking right answers is a market orientated view. I had the idea of the teacher in my scenario coming from a similar sort of background but did not have quite a label for it. I feel like this post in comparison to mine is quite straight to the point and well critically analysed.

    I like your honesty in saying that you do not have a ready answer. It is quite hard to come to a conclusion about the situation that Wayne finds himself in especially if you are a believer in quality education. I think you have also addressed the provocation of what kind of teacher do I want to be? I like your idea of “cognitive developments to serve them in any occupation”. To be very honest, this scenario is actually a mirror of my high school days. I guess I was one of those students seeking the right answers in some subjects. I felt that when I was in high my teachers did not really focus on the bigger picture or how it would relate to my learning in the world. It was more like they were accommodating us by teaching us to write answers from a textbook. I think it was their natural instinct to conform to the textbook because it is safer and we just went along with it because it was easier. So the answer that I would give about whether to buy into their market-oriented view is no, just go wild and get their brains ticking.

  2. Pingback: Comments for Education Foundations | Adventures of an Aspiring Teacher

Leave a comment